My Brother…

What do you understand about a woman?
How do you define love?
What is the drive behind your intentions when it comes to a woman’s feelings?
Do you understand the expression “Handle with care?”
Or do those words disappear into thin air when you hear…
Is the language we speak so foreign that you get lost in translation?
You see, I’m trying to decipher your motivation…
As to why you leave us without any explanation.
Give me an answer, and don’t send me to your voicemail
Because I have had enough of pitiful excuses & sorrys’ you missed my calls
When I was trying to reach you, but you did not return my grasp,
So I gasp. I gasp at how fast it was that we would last and I would see you in my past.

They say love is blind, but maybe that is because you are blocking my view of the real “you”.
The “you” that I don’t have to find, because you are already pursuing with time, truly seeing the dime that lies within the truth of who I am.

I am Miss-Understood.
I am flaws and imperfections.
I am a million different pieces of a puzzle that can never be completed because it would take up too much of your time.
I am your worst nightmare that you can’t escape until you wake up and realise that it was all a dream.
I am the waves crashing over the sand with tears, call the tide in because I’m about to be “shore” (sure), that they will keep flowing some more.
I am a product of divorce, because those marriage vows were spoken with empty promises that only guaranteed separation.
I am a victim of Uncle Bully, growing richer with every penny slipped under my pillow each time I was a quick-fix.
I am the one who calls you “bro” because I got my walls up guarding my heart that has been broken into and stolen, without a refund or replacement: labelled “damaged goods, discard”.

Embrace me. But do not mistaken me.

I may be these things but keep in mind that this box says “Handle with care” because what’s inside is very rare
You will not find another me amongst all these other “hers”, we cannot make it to we if you are stuck in all these “were’s”…
Keep in mind that a million different pieces of a puzzle make up a masterpiece…
I am the Master’s Piece, so I keep calm and know that if I am not loved by you,
I have a love that is true. A love that says Jesus died for me too.

Embrace me. But do not mistaken me.

“I AM WHO I AM” (Exodus 3:14) – Do you understand?

4 Comments

Leave a comment